Competitions, News, Southampton League

77th Annual STTA Closed Tournament Results

Results of the 77th Annual Closed Tournament for

Southampton Table Tennis Association

All matches were held at Waterside Table Tennis Centre, Testwood Sports College.

The tournament started on Friday 18th March with the Under 12 competition.

Most matches were played Sunday 20th March and the “Finals Night”, held on Tuesday 22nd March, where finals were played and trophies presented.

Mike Rhodes took some superb photos of the finals night.

His flickr album can be found here

Southampton Closed Table Tennis Finals 2016

A video was made of the mens final between Wojciech Placek and Jonny McMullan, and it can be seen here:

and the division 1 final between Jason Lockyer and Ugur Saglik :

Under 12s Winner Ben Poulter

Tournament Winners:

U12 Boys Singles :-

Winner: Ben Poulter (W)

Runner Up: Joe Watkins (W)

U15 Boys (Cadet) Singles :-

Winner: Jonathan McMullan (A)

Runner Up: William Poulter (W)

William Poulter Cadet Runner-up

Jonathan McMullan Junior Winner

U18 Boys (Junior) Singles :-

Winner: Jonathan McMullan (A)

Ugar Saglik Junior Runner-up

Runner Up: Ugar Saglik (W)

Rod McMullan Veterans & Premier Division Winner

Veterans (Over 40) Singles :-

Steve Hemmings Veterans Runner-up & Over 55s Winner

Winner: Rod McMullan (A)

Runner Up: Steve Hemmings (W)

Over 55’s Singles :-

Winner: Steve Hemmings (W)

Runner Up: Anne Longland (SW)

Division 4 Singles :-

Winner: Devu Das (W)

Devu Das Division 4 Winner

Runner Up: William Poulter (W)

Piotr Pawlowski Division 3 Winner

Division 3 Singles :-

Winner: Piotr Pawlowski (P.W.O.)

Sepi Shahlazondeh Division 3 Runner-up

Runner Up: Sepi Shahlazondeh (NC)

Division 2 Singles :-

Albert Garcia Division 2 Winner

Winner: Albert Garcia (W)

Runner Up: Sarah Warwick (SW)

Ugar Saglik Division 1 Winner

Division 1 Singles :-

Jason Lockyer Division 1 Runner-up

Winner: Ugar Saglik (W)

Runner Up: Jason Lockyer (W)

Premier Division Singles :-

Winner: Rod McMullan (A)

Edyta Schmid Premier Division Runners-up

Runner Up: Edyta Schmid (W)

John McBeath / Edyta Schmid Mixed Doubles Winners

Mixed Doubles :-

Winner: John McBeath (SW) / Edyta Schmid (W)

Runners up: Danny Ricks / Anne Longland (SW)

Ladies Doubles :-

Winner: Edyta Schmid (W) / Sepi Shahlazondeh (NC)

Runners up: Sarah Warwick / Anne Longland (SW)

Mens Doubles :-

Winner: Jimmy Yeung (GII) / Jonathan McMullan (A)

Runners up: Matthew Daish / Ugar Saglik (W)


Edyta Schmid Ladies Winner


Ladies Singles :-

Winner: Edyta Schmid (W)

Runner Up: Anne Longland (SW)




Mens Singles :-

Jonathan McMullan Mens Singles Winner

Winner: Jonathan McMullan (A)

Runner Up: Wojciech Placek (W)

Summary of Matches

U12 Boys Singles Final :-

Winner: Ben Poulter (W) beat

Runner Up: Joe Watkins (W) 9-11, 12-10, 11-6, 11-4

U15 Boys (Cadet) Singles Group :-

Winner: Jonathan McMullan (A)

Runner Up: William Poulter (W)

U18 Boys (Junior) Singles Group :-

Winner: Jonathan McMullan (A)

Runner Up: Ugar Saglik (W)

Veterans (Over 40) Singles :-

Group 1 Winner Rod McMullan R/U Paul May

Group 2 Winner Paul May R/U Kevin Buchanan

Group 3 Winner Steve Hemmings R/U John Taylor

Group 4 Winner Robin Plunkett R/U Albert Garcia

Group 5 Winner Cameron Brealey R/U Jason Lockyer

QF1 Rod McMullan beat John Taylor

QF2 Cameron Brealey beat Robin Plunkett

QF3 Steve Hemmings beat Mark Kimber

QF4 Paul May beat Jason Lockyer

SF1 Rod McMullan beat Cameron Brealey

SF2 Steve Hemmings beat Paul May

Final Rod McMullan Runner Up beat

Steve Hemmings 13-11, 9-11, 13-11, 9-11, 11-8

Over 55’s Group Singles :-

Winner Steve Hemmings (3 match wins, Steve bt Anne 11-5, 11-7, 11-8)

Runner Up Anne Longland (2 match wins)

Division 4 Group Singles :-

Winner: Devu Das (W) (4 match wins)

Runner Up: William Poulter (W) (3 match wins)

Division 3 Singles :-

Group 1 Winner Sepi Shahlazondeh R/U Piotr Pawlowski

Group 2 Winner Jakub Wolowski R/U Mariusz Stasiuk

SF1 Sepi Shahlazondeh beat Mariusz Stasiuk 11-6, 9-11, 11-6, 12-10

SF2 Piotr Pawlowski beat Jakub Wolowski 11-9, 5-11, 11-4, 11-3

Final Piotr Pawlowski (P.W.O.) beat

Sepi Shahlazondeh (NC) 11-4, 11-7, 11-7

Division 2 Singles :-

Group 1 Winner Sarah Warwick R/U Trevor Mowle

Group 2 Winner Albert Garcia R/U Barry Dobson

SF1 Sarah Warwick beat Barry Dobson

SF2 Albert Garcia beat Trevor Mowle 11-7, 11-2, 11-7

Here is a video of the Division 2 final between Albert Garcia and Sarah Warwick :

Final: Albert Garcia (W) beat

Sarah Warwick (SW) 11-8, 11-9, 11-9

Division 1 Singles :-

Group 1 Winner Ugar Saglik R/U David Wills

Group 2 Winner Steve Hemmings R/U Cameron Brealey

Group 3 Winner Jason Lockyer

SF1 Ugar Saglik beat Cameron Brealey

SF2 Jason Lockyer beat Steve Hemmings

Final Ugar Saglik (W) beat

Jason Lockyer (W) 11-6, 11-5, 11-7

Premier Singles Group (excl top 8) :-

Winner: Rod McMullan (A) (2 wins, Rod bt Edyta 11-8, 13-11, 11-4)

Runner Up: Edyta Schmid (W) (2 wins)

Mixed Doubles Group:-

Winner: John McBeath (SW) / Edyta Schmid (W) (3 match wins)

Runners up: Danny Ricks / Anne Longland (SW) (2 match wins)

Ladies Doubles Final:-


Winner: Edyta Schmid (W) / Sepi Shahlazondeh (NC) beat

Runners up: Sarah Warwick / Anne Longland (SW) 11-8, 11-7, 8-11, 11-7

Mens Doubles :-

QF1 M Daish / U Saglik bt W Placek / J McBeath

QF2 A Turner / P May bt D Wills / A Garcia

QF3 D Ricks / R Mc Mullan bt J Taylor / R Plunkett

QF4 J Yeung / J McMullan bt S Hemmings / J Lockyer

SF1 M Daish / U Saglik bt A Turner / P May 9-11, 11-7, 11-7, 11-FY3A3462_edited-17

SF2 J Yeung / J McMullan bt D Ricks / R McMullan 13-11, 11-3, 11-8

Final Jimmy Yeung (GII) / Jonathan McMullan (A) beat

Matthew Daish / Ugar Saglik (W) 11-6, 11-8, 11-2


Ladies Singles Group :-

Winner: Edyta Schmid (W) (4 match wins)

Runner Up: Anne Longland (SW) (3 match wins)

Mens Singles :-

Group 1 Winner Wojciech Placek R/U Jakub Wolowski

Group 2 Winner Jonny McMullan R/U Cameron Brealey

Group 3 Winner Jason Lockyer R/U Paul May

Group 4 Winner Brian Hayes R/U Barry Ross

Group 5 Winner John McBeath R/U David Wills

Group 6 Winner Jimmy Yeung R/U Albert Garcia

Group 7 Winner Alister Turner R/U Danny Ricks

Group 8 Winner Rod McMullan R/U John Taylor

Group 9 Winner Ugar Saglik R/U Robin Plunkett

QF1 Wojciech Placek bt Danny Ricks

QF2 Brian Hayes bt John McBeath

QF3 Jimmy Yeung bt Ugar Saglik

QF4 Jonathan McMullan bt Alister Turner

SF1 Wojciech Placek beat Brian Hayes 11-7, 11-3, 6-11, 11-6

SF2 Jonathan McMullan beat Jimmy Yeung 4-11, 11-9, 10-12, 11-2, 11-7
Final: Jonathan McMullan (A) beat

Wojciech Placek (W) 11-13, 11-8, 11-7, 11-7FY3A3586_edited-1

The Southampton Table Tennis Association would like to thank the Snows Motor Group for sponsoring them during the past seasons.

Visit the Association’s Web Page at for up to date information, league results, tables and averages.

Notes: –

(A) = Alpha, (GII) = Generation 2, (NC) = New Community,

(SW) = Southampton West TTC, (W) = Waterside TTC

The order of play may be changed depending upon participants and the length

of games.

All matches were best of five games 11 up.